• Papers are available online!
  • The ACM Digital Library has provided open access to all ISMM 2014 papers for one year. See the ISMM 2014 Table of Contents.

  • The conference program is now available here.
  • We are excited to have Tony Printezis of Twitter, Inc. giving the keynote talk. Tony will discuss his current work analyzing the needs of Twitter's infrastructure and its developers, and designing a custom build of the Java virtual machine tailored to those needs.

  • Paper selection is complete. Thank you to all the authors and reviewers!
  • This year we accepted 11 papers out of 22 submissions -- similar to prior years. The list of accepted papers will be posted soon. Although relatively high, this acceptance rate reflects the generally high quality of the submissions. We hope you will join us in Edinburgh in June!

About ISMM

ISMM is a forum for research in memory management. As in recent years, ISMM will be co-located with PLDI 2014. Areas of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Memory allocation and de-allocation
  • Garbage Collection algorithms and implementations
  • Compiler analyses and tools to aid memory management
  • Empirical analysis of heap intensive programs
  • Formal analysis and verification of heap intensive programs
  • Memory system design and analysis
  • Verification of memory management algorithms
  • Memory management for new or non-traditional systems
  • Development and evaluation of open-source implementations related to memory management

ISMM solicits full-length submissions covering new work on these topics, as well as papers presenting confirmations or refutations of important prior results. Surveys and comparative analyses that shed new light on previously published techniques are also welcome.

Important dates

April 21, 2014
New! Submission deadline:February 12, 2014 Now Monday, February 17, 2014
11:59:59pm Anywhere on Earth
Rebuttal period:March 24-26, 2014
Notification:April 1, 2014
Final copy:

Conference information

ISMM will be co-located with PLDI 2014 in Edinburgh, Scotland, on Thursday June 12, 2014.


NEW: the submission site is now open.

Details on the paper submission process will be posted here soon.

Submissions must be in English, formatted for US Letter (8.5 x 11 inches) paper, and no more than 10 pages (including bibliography, excluding well marked appendices) in standard ACM SIGPLAN conference format: two columns, 9-point font (or larger) on a ten-point baseline (or larger), with columns 20pc (3.33in) wide and 54pc (9in) tall, and a column gutter of 2pc (0.33in). Detailed formatting guidelines are available at the URL below, along with formatting templates or style files for LaTeX:

Papers should be self-contained and auxiliary material will not be accepted. Papers that violate these guidelines will be rejected by the program chair. Program committee members are not required to read appendices, and so a paper should be intelligible without them. All accepted papers will appear in the published proceedings.


The ISMM review process will be double-blind so that author anonymity is preserved to avoid bias. The principal criteria for acceptance are scientific merit, innovation, readability, and relevance. As in previous years, ISMM 2014 will use a separate External Review Committee (ERC) to complement the main Program Committee (PC), providing expertise in specific areas and avoiding the need for ad-hoc outside reviewers.

Authors will have the opportunity to respond to reviews during a short rebuttal period. Responses are expected to be succinct and limited to correcting factual errors and answering specific questions from the reviews. The committee may choose to address responses or revise reviews, but is not obligated to do so.

Papers previously published or already being reviewed by another conference are not eligible. If a closely related paper has been submitted to a journal, the authors must notify the program chair (see the SIGPLAN republication policy). The submission deadline for ISMM is chosen to be shortly after the author notification deadline for PLDI to allow for authors of relevant papers not accepted for PLDI to re-submit them to ISMM.


General Chair: David Grove IBM
Program Chair: Samuel Z Guyer Tufts University
Program Committee: David Bacon IBM
Emery Berger UMass Amherst
Laurent Daynes Oracle
Diego Garbervetsky University of Buenos Aires
Doug Lea SUNY Oswego
Shan Lu University of Wisconsin
Rob O'Callahan Mozilla
Melissa O'Neill Harvey Mudd College
Polyvios Pratikakis FORTH ICS
Tony Printezis Twitter
Tomoharu Ugawa Kochi University of Technology
Harry Xu UC Irvine
External Review Committee: Eddie Aftandilian Google
Michael Bond Ohio State University
Tim Harris Oracle
Tony Hosking Purdue
Richard Jones University of Kent
Ondrej Lhotak University of Waterloo
Simon Marlowe Facebook
Milo Martin University of Pennsylvania
Nick Mitchell IBM Research
Eliot Moss UMass Amherst
Jennifer Sartor Ghent University
Publicity Chair: Jeremy Singer University of Glasgow

Last updated February 4, 2014